Thread: DP Question
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 22, 2010, 07:58pm
Steve M Steve M is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by txtrooper View Post
Rule 4 Section 3 A, States that a DP may be used for any player provided it is made known prior to the start of the game and the player is indicated in the line-up as one of the nine in the original batting order.

Does the team Manager/Coach have to tell the PU that the DP will play defense, during the line-up card inspection, at the plate meeting? I recently worked a tournament and the UIC brought this up to me. I want to know how you all interpret this rule. I was under the impression that when the DP and FLEX were listed on the line-up that the DP was eligible to play defense, without it being said at the plate.
Whether "required" or not depends on the sanctioning body and what position the DP is playing defensively. Even where it is not required, it is expected that a coach will let the PU know when a change has been made. I'm using "required" to indicate that there is a penalty or potential penalty when not reported. Now, why wouldn't you report the change of having your DP play defense for somebody other than the Flex?
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote