Incidental contact
To further elaborate on Mark's post, I believe what he is suggesting is that any contact after the shooter had returned to the floor on a made shot could be considered incidental. In general, such contact occurs frequently and does not prevent normal offensive and defensive movements.
HOWEVER, I disagree strongly with Mark's assumption that this is not a foul by rule. There are certainly rules that can support the idea of not calling a foul, but you have to see the contact to know whether or not it warrants a foul. Perhaps it actually could have resulted in an intentional or flagrant foul - futurerefboy said that B pushed A.
You have to see this push to decide call or no-call, and what type of foul. And yes, inexperienced refs will not have as good a background to make that decision. But the call is NOT WRONG by any rule in the book - it is just one that you must choose wisely when calling.
|