View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 14, 2010, 10:10am
BK47 BK47 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Farmland west of Chicago
Posts: 74
Send a message via ICQ to BK47
OK, poor choice of words on my part then. Here is a citation:

Case Book: 7.3.4 SITUATION B: B1 is at bat with a three-ball, two-strike count. He swings at the next pitch and the ball hits his right fist and, without contacting the bat, goes into foul territory. F2 retrieves the ball and throws to F3 who is covering first base and tags B1 with the ball. RULING: As soon as the ball hit the batter it became dead. B1 is declared out. To have the play ruled a foul ball, the ball would have to have hit the bat first before it touched his hand.

So I guess I am using a poor choice of words. All I am saying is that if he is offering at the pitch and it hits his hands, that does not mean he gets first base. That means the ball is dead is all. No more play until the ball is put back into play by PU. I understand what you guys are saying and I really need to use a better way to explain to the Coaches when something like this happens to me. Thank you for the lesson.
Reply With Quote