Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  charliej47
					 
				 
				I ruled as such because when he started his "jump turn" he was in contact with the rubber and the turn is an extension of hie contact. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 There's nothing in the rules about "extension of the contact." Rather than make up a rule about being in contact when he's obviously not, you're on more solid ground to explain it in terms of NOT being a legal disengagement. 
Since it's not a legal disengagement, it's still governed by the rules concerning stepping and throwing to 1B, even though the pivot foot loses contact with the rubber.