View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 08, 2010, 10:28pm
sseltser sseltser is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
That describes contact on a defender who has a legal position. Rule 4-24-8 describes what a player can do while legally pivoting. According to Hornet's description of the play, the pivot was legal. That means the defender's vertical stance has to be illegal if contact occurs.

Apples and oranges...and 4-24-6 isn't germane to the discussion if the player with the ball makes a legal pivot.
Just a clarification question: if a player is holding his elbows as in 4-24-6 and pivoting, do you consider this a legal pivot?

In the OP, the way I read it, is that A1 complies with with 4-24-8, but is not complying with 4-24-6. If contact occurs between A1's extended (and illegal) elbow into B1's jaw, I think this could very well be a PC foul.
Reply With Quote