Quote:
Originally Posted by kopan99
OBR. Bases loaded 1 out, popup near second, infield fly rule called but ball drops. All runners take off. Fielder with ball thinks its a force and steps on second. Umpire also thinks its a force and calls the runner out (3rd out). Said runner stops halfway to second and returns to the dugout. Manager lodges a protest for misinterpretation of a playing rule
Umpires can remedy this in NFHS, but is there a fix in OBR. And, can the protest be upheld on a mixup concerning a tag vs. force play.
|
NF does not participate in protests. Maybe your state does, but the NF has nothing to do with this. I could see the umpires getting together and changing this if this was misapplied.
Peace