Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
Wow.
Why?
Why would there be any grief ... why would ANYONE assume there's an out on the appeal. They see two people on the same base, a tag, and an out called. And most of them have seen this before. No reason to assume anything. Further - say they DO make this assumption... why in the world would they then cause anyone any grief. What do you possibly envision the coach (or anyone) saying in this situation that could give ANY umpire any grief here.
This horse is dead, packaged, and eaten by now. I'm done.
|
Exactly.
I would point at the runner that is out so that there is no confusion as to which runner I am ruling out. If you don't point, R1 may very well think you called her out and step off the bag. Then you're really in the jackpot.
I am not ruling on any appeal until somebody informs me there is an appeal to be made. Otherwise, I am simply ruling on the fact that there are two runners standing on the same bag and that both of them have been tagged.
After looking at this further, I don't think it matters whether or not there is an appeal in the first place. R2 is going to be out for either reason. R1 is still entitled to 2nd base so she has tagged up.