Quote:
Originally Posted by vcblue
Just trying to make sure I have the correct ASA rule for this situation. Saw it in a college game this weekend. I believe GT vs Oregon (1st game).
D3K ball off F2 chest protector and lands fair up the 1st base line top of box. B/R kicks the ball. No interference called.
In ASA I believe this is covered under 8-7-L: A runner is out... when a runner intentionally kicks a fair ball that an infielder missed. Because the blues rule no intent they did not call interference.
Am I correct or is there another rule that covers this play? Or, should this have been ruled interference?
|
12.2.3 The batter-runner may not interfere with the catcher’s attempt to field a third strike.
Note: If both players’ actions are appropriate to the situation and contact
could not be avoided, it is inadvertent contact and neither interference nor
obstruction.
A.R. 12.2.3: It is not interference if the batter-runner unintentionally kicks the ball that had deflected off the catcher who attempted to field a dropped third strike.