intentional vs flagrant
Sadly I have to admit that I'm having a hard time distinguishing the differences between intentional fouls and flagrant fouls and the rules that apply to them (two shots and the ball, or POI). I don't have my rule book and also did a search on this forum but got more confused. I will give two scenarios and ask my questions with each (NFHS).
Example 1: Player A has a clear drive to the hoop and as he goes in for the layup, player B grabs him from behind and pulls him to the ground with no real attempt at the ball.
Since the ball is live, this has to be intentional right?. Two shots and the ball for A. However, is B disqualified?
Example 2: Player A is boxing out player B under the goal and while doing so raises his elbows, swings and hits player B in the face.
Is this the same as throwing a punch? What are other easy examples of a flagrant foul?
Thanks for the help.
PS. I understand how important it is to use correct terms when explaining rules and I'm really trying to work hard at using all the correct terminology for these fouls. I'm still learning, so forgive me if I've used incorrect "verbiage"
Last edited by Ptflea2; Thu May 20, 2010 at 02:15pm.
|