View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 10, 2003, 05:35pm
RookieDude RookieDude is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee

1)If you call a deliberate or flagrant personal foul by a defender on the an airborne shooter after he has released the ball-and time for the quarter then expires-you also won't be giving team B the full "punishment".It's 2 shots for the shooter,and you start the next period with an AP.That's no different than the sitch I'm talking about.
Good point...I'll give you that one.
So, as I said, that might not be the better reason for starting the 4th quarter with the shots and the ball.

Consider this JR...would you still call A1 an airborne shooter if he dunked the ball, swung on the rim and THEN upon and before coming to the ground A1 intentionally fouled B1.
You would have the dunk...
then the T....
then the intentional foul on A1.(would you call this a personal foul or a technical foul?)
I believe your Case Book play, 4.19.6 sitD would back you up either way on this call.
So, our true debate here is weather or not A1 is still defined as an airborne shooter while he is swinging on the rim.
If A1 is considered an airborne shooter you have to go with JR's call.
If you think A1 has completed his "act of shooting" by hanging on the rim, you have to go with MN3's call.

Does that about sum it up?

Dude
Reply With Quote