View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 10, 2003, 04:05pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude

Here's why:
Team B dosen't get the full benefit of the "punishment" for A1 swinging on the rim if you don't make it a part of the 4th quarter.
Also, and maybe a better point, the unsporting act of swinging on the rim could be judged to happen AFTER THE SHOT...what would you call if A2 had jumped up and swung on the rim after the ball had gone through the basket just as A1 did?
We would call T on A2 and start the 4th quarter with shots and Team B with the ball. Hmmmmmm, just some thoughts.

1)If you call a deliberate or flagrant personal foul by a defender on the an airborne shooter after he has released the ball-and time for the quarter then expires-you also won't be giving team B the full "punishment".It's 2 shots for the shooter,and you start the next period with an AP.That's no different than the sitch I'm talking about.
2)A2 committing a T has got absolutely nothing to do with what the airborne shooter is doing.It's a completely different occurence that will carry it's own,seperate penalty.Depending on when A2's T occurs,it could be part of the 3rd. quarter OR start off the 4th. quarter.
Reply With Quote