View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 17, 2010, 01:49pm
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Either is still in the game when performing the other role.

And yet, this seems to be the most frequently misunderstood aspect of the rule. That comes from trying to treat it as a stand alone rule, ignoring basic lineup and substitution concepts; plus not studying the rule thoroughly.
Unless I am misunderstanding what you are saying, that is impossible. The FLEX can never perform the DP role and NOT be on defense; the DP can never perform the FLEX role and not be on offense.

If you are attempting to say that they can perform BOTH roles, and are still (and continuously) in the game, I agree; but they can never perform only the OTHER role.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote