View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 17, 2010, 10:37am
TwoBits TwoBits is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
The OP's scenario nearly dupicates NFHS casebook play 3.3.6 Situation E:

Team A is using 10 players in its lineup with DP-L. Jones batting third. FLEX B. Smith is playing right field and is a very fast runner. In the first, third, and sixth innings, DP-L. Jones gets on base and, in each case, the FLEX-B. Smith is put in to run. Legal?
Ruling: It is legal for the defensive position player (FLEX) to do this since she never left the game. However, it would be illegal for the starting DP-L. Jones to return to bat in the sixth inning. This is a violation of the re-entry rule.
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote