Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
Don't have my rulebook. Why did 6-1-2 need clarifying?
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach
Current passage below...
ART. 2 . . . The ball becomes live when:
a.On a jump ball, the tossed ball leaves the referee’s hand(s).
b.On a throw-in, it is at the disposal of the thrower.
c.On a free throw, it is at the disposal of the free thrower.
NOTE: Any rules statement is made on the assumption that no infraction is involved
unless mentioned or implied. If such infraction occurs, the rule governing it is followed.
For example, a game or extra period will not start with a jump ball if a foul occurs before
the ball becomes live.
|
That's an interesting editorial change. So on a free throw the ball can be at the disposal of the thrower but not be live. So if B2 shoots an elbow to the ribs of A2 before we start our count it would be a Technical instead of a personal foul. Same on throw-ins.