View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 01, 2010, 12:42pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
Interesting explanation...were the miked? I'm not saying your lying, but it doesn't seem to match the rule they way you're retelling it. What am I missing?
The "interpretation" of this is that throwing directly to the base, or to the fielder who is close enough to make a play, only applies to 1B. It does not apply to 2nd or 3rd, so a pitcher can turn and throw to F4 deep in the outfield grass and it is not a balk.

Further research, I found same ruling in PBUC also, but is not in MLBUM that I can find.
Reply With Quote