View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 28, 2010, 01:23pm
ozzy6900 ozzy6900 is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Originally Posted by biggravy View Post
I can't find it but I'm not done looking.

JV game (where I get to refresh all the obscure rules). 0 out. 0-1 count. R1 breaks for 2B when F1 comes set. F2 seeing the runner break stands up and just as F1 is delivering F2 pulls his mask off. He catches the pitch despite a bunt attempt and luckily does not get his face broken. He did not interfere with the batter, just managed to catch the pitch in his glove while holding his mask in his throwing hand. Any rules violated?
I don't see any violation but it could have been lights out for F2. Pretty stupid move on his part, if you ask me.

The trick here is:
  • Watch for F2 reaching out over the plate. Don't allow this for a moment.
  • Watch for F2 touching the batter in any way.
  • Watch for for a catch with detached equipment.
  • And if F2 is doing everything right, you have to make sure that the batter doesn't interfere with F2's throw to 2nd.
It's a lot to watch for but you have no choice.
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Reply With Quote