View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 08, 2003, 07:39pm
eventnyc eventnyc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 169
Boys JV tonight NFHS. A1 while dribbling in his front court has the ball knocked away by B1 towards the backcourt. The ball while in flight hits B2 and then A2 before going into the backcourt. A3 recovers in the backcourt and I blow the play dead, backcourt violation. The A coach starts screaming and my partner a 10 year vet comes over to me and explains that B1 knocked the ball away from A1. I tell him that I saw that, however A2 touched it last and caused it to go backcourt. He tells me that it doesn't matter and to be truthful that put enough doubt into the play to have me agree with him. By the end of the game we both forgot about discussing it. In the comfort of my home, I pull out the rule book and see that the situation was a BC violation. Team A was the last to possess TEAM control, caused the ball to go into BC and was the first to touch it there. I will probably not see him anytime soon as our Board is quite large. You hardly ever work with the same officials more than once every two years. Should I give him a call to discuss it? I don't want it to seem as if I am rubbing it in his face, however, the situation obviously could happen again. If I do call him, how should I approach it?
__________________
"Don't measure yourself by what you have accomplished, but by what you should have accomplished with your ability."
- John Wooden
Reply With Quote