View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 11:11am
bniu bniu is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by shagpal View Post
lemme throw you all a curveball....

if this 5th "fielder" is in the grass outside of the infield, in the outfield playing in behind the second base bag, aka "rover", and an fly is hit right at him w/ infield fly in effect, do you declare an infield fly?

remember, fielder is standing on the outfield right behind 2B, playing "in" as a rover. based upon where he stands? where he makes the play?

if no IF is declared by you or your partner, do you allow either team to request it be invoked per the new ASA rules of IF in effect even if no umpires call it?
as yourself this question: "can this supposedly 5th infielder let the ball fall and quickly get a 'cheap' double play?"
if yes, infield fly
if no, rule accordingly...
Reply With Quote