View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 07, 2003, 02:10pm
hawkk hawkk is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 152
Re: Re: 5 second inbound rule

Quote:
Originally posted by williebfree
Quote:
Originally posted by jking_94577
What about the five second inbound rule? Since the throw in does not end until it touches a player, can the inbounder be charged with a violation?
The 5-second count ends when the inbounder releases the ball toward the court. You may be thinking of the "old" counting practice which continued until the ball was legally touched by a player (or legally touched a player). Some of the more seasoned veterans can tell you when this switch occurred.
I'm pretty sure that it changed in the mid 80's
Reply With Quote