Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  JasonTX
					 
				 
				Under NCAA this would not apply since the term "crosses neutral zone" is defined in rule 2-19-3.  ...It has not crossed the neutral zone when it first strikes the ground, a player, an official or anything behind the neutral zone inbounds."  What this means is the ball did not cross the neutral zone if it's touched behind the NZ, but a ball can still land beyond the NZ.  The rules for PI only apply to those passes that cross the NZ, not where it lands. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 Correct...good clarification for NCAA.  One of those subtle differences that probably gets enforced the same way in HS and college either because the official applies the NCAA rule as a HS philosophy or because it never dawned on the HS official the pass technically went beyond the NZ.