Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
"Case Book 7.3.5 Situation F:
Situation: With R1 on third, one out and two strikes on B3, B3 swings and misses the pitch. The ball bounces off F2’s glove into the air, where it is hit by B3’s follow-through. The ball rolls to the back stop. B3 reaches first base safely and R1 scores.
Ruling: The ball is dead immediately. B3 is out for interference and R1 returns to third base. A batter is entitled to an uninterrupted opportunity to hit the ball, just as the catcher is entitled to an uninterrupted opportunity to field the ball. Once the batter swings, he is responsible for his follow-through.
Okay, I admit I am confused on this one because it flies in the face of logic (my logic, so obviously it is failed logic). There is nothing intentional being done.
F2 had a chance to field the strike originally. It seems we are rewarding the defense when they erred.
So, is this the same at the NCAA and OBR level?
I am quite upside down on this one.
T
|
In OBR or NCAA, this would be backswing or "weak" interference. The ball is dead, and there is no penalty. In this case, the batter would be out on strikes and R3 would return.