View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 16, 2010, 05:36pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post

3. [snip] We don't know who will be the thrower in this situation. It could be the player currently holding the ball, but it may not. This foul is no different from any other foul committed inbounds during a throw-in.

4. Technical foul. When a player simultaneously infringes two rules, apply the harsher of the two penalties as a sanction.
3. What I left above is irrelevant. The foul occurred on the inbounds side of the boundary line. As such, it doesn't matter if it is the thrower or not.

4. There is no rules basis for that conclusion aside from requring the official to determine which occured first. By rule, if they were simultaneous, both are to be penalized. That said, I hope the official would pick one or the other...but there is no rules guidance on which to pick.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote