Quote:
Originally Posted by biz
I'm confused...Are people saying that if the violation occurred when the shot clock horn sounded (ie there wasn't a shot attempt just before the shot clock expired) and the officials recognized the violation (blew the whistle and patted his/her head) and there was definite knowledge of how much time was on the game clock when the violation occurred that we shouldn't put the 1.5 seconds back on the game clock?
Just looking for clarification.
|
If the horn sounds when the ball is in a player's hand (or otherwise not in flight on a try), then put the definite knowledge time back on the clock -- 1.5 seconds, in this instance.
I think the discussion is what to do if the ball is in flight on a try. Do we reset to "when the try ends" or "when the whistle blows" (in the specific CA rules example cited -- it's clear what to do in NCAA).