Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Since it was a mistake by the officials, I believe that you count everything as if they were going the right way, and then, once the mistake is discovered, turn them all around and have them go the right way.
4-5-4: If by mistake the officials permit a team to go the wrong direction,
when discovered all points scored, fouls committed, and time consumed shall
count as if each team had gone the proper direction. Play shall resume with each
team going the proper direction based on bench location.
5.2.1 SITUATION E: During the pregame practice period, the visiting team
properly uses the east goal and the home team the west goal. The officials, by
mistake, allow the jumpers to face the wrong direction to start the game. A1 controls
the tap by tapping the ball back to A2. A2, realizing that he/she had warmed
up at the basket behind A1, dribbles to that basket and scores an uncontested
basket. RULING: Score the basket for Team A. The officials should stop the game
and emphasize to both teams the proper direction. The mistake is an official's
error by allowing A1 and B1 to face the wrong direction; not a correctable error.
5.2.1 SITUATION F: During the pregame practice period, the visiting team
properly uses the east goal and the home team the west goal. The officials, by
mistake, allow the jumpers to face the wrong direction to start the game. Several
baskets are scored before it is recognized that both teams are throwing the ball
into the opponent’s basket. RULING: All points scored count as if the teams had
gone the right direction and scored in their own basket. Once the mistake is recognized,
play shall continue with each team attempting to score in its own basket.
(4-5-4)
|
Are we suppose to use this rule in this situation. Usually we see this mistake when we allows teams to shoot at the wrong basket, but in the original situation, teams were shooting at the correct basket but had an official accidentally shoot the wrong way. It's not like the situation where teams are shooting at the wrong basket and a player realizes this and shoots at the correct basket.
Though unfortunate for one team, if you miss the backcourt violation, I'd say you have to credit the points to the other team and play on. I'm sure others will chime in.