View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 05, 2010, 05:14pm
Zoochy Zoochy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
I am finished officiating High School games this year, so I am watching a lot of post season play. I saw a crew misapply the 2nd Jump Ball rule. They sent the original Jumpers to rejump.
Also I saw another misapplication during a jump ball. Jumper A1 taps the ball. The ball contacts the ground. Jumper B1 secures control of the ball. Official calls a violation on B1 for securing control of the ball. I bet no one but me knew that was not a violation. The Jump ball restriction ends when the ball touches the floor. There are other ways the jumpball restrictions end. I'll let you look in the rule book. They did set the AP arrow correctly after handing the ball to Team A for the throw-in.
I know misapplying the jump ball is not going to decide the outcome of the game, but it irks me when the 'superior' officials misapply rules.
Reply With Quote