View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 03, 2010, 09:45am
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I can understand the state's thinking in this matter...they were going with the "spirit and intent".

I personally think this particular 'T' should be a Team Technical or an Indirect to the player. But I don't write the rules.
Quote:
Originally Posted by biz View Post
Update on this story. Lynn English lost its next game in the tournament by one. Most definitely would have been a different game if Woumn played, but that's the way the cookie crumbles.

The only word I have on the officials is that all 3 are supposedly college officials. I wouldn't take that information to the bank, but it raises a question for me. I'm not very familiar with NCAA rules, so I'm wondering if the T for reaching through the plane and making contact with the ball carries a different penalty in NCAA-M or NCAA-W?

I know we have plenty of NCAA officials out there who can set me straight.


Section 6. (Men) CLASS B TECHNICAL INFRACTIONS

j. Reaching through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touching or dislodging the ball while it is in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate outside the boundary line as in Rule 7-5.6.b.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Mar 03, 2010 at 10:22am.
Reply With Quote