Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
The problem I see with that statement, suggest that there is never a time defender can touch a dribbler. The reality is that is not completely true. If a defender is retreating and the touching was kind of a protection from getting ran over, I do not think I will call a handcheck on a defender. Even when we talk about legal guarding position, the rules allow the defender to put their hands up and arms up to protect themselves as long as they are within their vertical plane. This is where judgment comes in.
|
Basically,you can't call a hand-check unless the defender initiates the action.