
Mon Feb 22, 2010, 09:55pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp
Not quite sure I understand your question clearly, or exactly what you are referring to when you said "this variant of the situation". I'll try to reply based on what I think you're asking.
First, I'm not an NCAA expert either, I had my books handy when I saw the OP, found it an interesting sitch, and looked at it from the perspective that if it happened in a college game, how would I have handled it, referencing the applicable NCAAA rule number.
My point to the poster about the dead ball not being pertinent to the sitch is this...when the run scored the game was over. Home team is jumping around, high fiving each other thinking that they won. At that moment the rule book definition of a completed game had been satisfied. Because the game is over the ball is dead. To illustrate it another way, say the batter hits a home run over the fence. When the ball cleared the fence it became, by rule, a dead ball. The offensive player in the OP who threw the ball into the dugout did not cause the ball to become a dead ball. it already was a dead ball by virtue of the home run. Hence, her actions have no bearing on the play. There is no base award given to any of the runners or the batter runner because she threw the ball into the dugout. As Irish pointed out in his initial reply to OP.....(paraphrasing here)....'we don't need the ball.'
Our concern on the field as a crew is:
1. Did the runner on 1st complete her base running obligation to touch 2nd after the BR got her base hit that scored the runner from 3rd?
2. Did the defensive team satisfy the rule requirements for a proper appeal?
|
So, to clarify the variation youngump was describing, if R2 keeps running toward 2B, and a defender notices, the fielder cannot throw the ball to 2B to force out the runner?
__________________
Tom
|