3.7.5 says that A players are illegal substitutes unless they are on their teams side of the ball, have been inside the 9's before the snap and not in violation of illegal motion or shift.
RULING: In (a), A1 must be on the field on A’s side of the neutral zone, inside the
9-yard marks, and not violate the shift or motion provisions. Furthermore, the act
of his coming onto the field must not deceive the defensive team.
In (b), the substitution
is legal as long as B1 is on the field on B’s side of the neutral zone prior
to the snap.
If B is Legal A must be ILLEGAL unless all requirements are met!
It says for B there are no restrictions other than being on their side of the ball.
ART. 5 . . . An entering substitute shall be on his team’s side of the neutral zone
when the ball is snapped or free kicked.
The casebook is saying there is more to this rule than written! Rule 3-7-5 needs to be edited so officials will call it the way the casebook says to call it.
|