Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar
Several people are right.
9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free-throw line to attempt a free throw: (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) while performing his/her habitual dribbles prior to the release, accidentally allows the ball to deflect off his/her foot into the lane. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No freethrow violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a free-throw violation shall be called on A1. (9-1-3a, e)
|
My partner and I had this occur Sunday afternoon during a 5th grade game. The shooter dribbled the ball, tried to pick up dribble and immediately "lost the handle". Ball dropped back to the floor directly in front of him where he started dribbling again and regained control. I was trail official and passed on calling a violation.
Coach behind me quickly yelled "that's a violation".... now I know.