I called my first T of the season last night. Crap JV girls game, second half, visitors down by 20. V has the ball in their frontcourt, white tips it. Girl touches it just before it crosses the division line, then controls it and dribbles in the backcourt. I whistle the violation.
The varsity coach is sitting on the bench and says, "That's a tipped ball!" I'm standing right next to him, so I say, "Yes, coach, but team control hadn't ended, and she touched it before and after it went in the backcourt." Then I hustle down to the other end of the court.
Then I hear him -- not quite shouting, but loud enough to reach me at my end of the court -- "Learn the rule!" Whack. He wasn't happy, and I thought for a moment he might step aside for the varsity game that night. Didn't happen.
When the varsity coach went to the locker room in the 4th quarter, the JV coach asked whether she could stand again. Sorry, it doesn't work like that.