View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 02, 2003, 04:10am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally posted by DrMooreReferee
Yep, its a brand New Year. So, I have a great idea. Lets all put any differences or ill feelings behind us and have some good football discussion. Afterall, thats what the forum is all about. My favorite part of the forum is the case plays and football questions we have. It keeps your mind on the game, even though the season is over for most of us. I'm going to start posting a few questions from our state exam. We don't take the NFHS exam. Our commisioner of officials is the guy who makes the exam. To give you an idea of what we're dealing with, his nickname is "Hitler"

I encourage everyone to post questions of your own. We could rotate and have each person come up with the case play of the day or something like that.

And remember, its a brand new year. So, Derock has not pissed any of you off since LAST year. LOL.

Here's my play....
-----------------------------------------------------------
4th and 10 for K. K punts the football and it is partially blocked behind the neutral zone.The ball then travels beyond the neutral zone, where R2 is in position to catch the ball. The ball (still in flight)hits K2's shoulder and bounces off the ground where R2 recovers.

Ruling......???????
Canadian Rules:

The touching of the ball before it crosses the NZ is disregarded (5.3.1).

When the ball hits K2's shoulder, we could proceed in either of two ways:

(1) if an R player is within the 5 yard halo centered at K2, then we have a restraining zone flag (5.4.1, case book 5.4.3.2). I guess R2 does not advance the ball after (s)he recovers it. Now, from here, we can proceed in either of two ways:

(a) if K2 was offside: up 15 from point of touching, subject to near-opponents-goal-line restrictions, 1st and 10 for R.
(b) if K2 was onside: the R will wave off the flag and award R 1st and 10 from PBD.

(2) if an R player was NOT within the 5 yard halo centered at K2, then there is no flag thrown for the No Yards foul, and it's R 1st and 10 from PBD.

Bruce, am I right?
Reply With Quote