Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee  Try studying rule NFHS 6-7-EXCEPTION(c). That tells you when the act of shooting begins for both a try and a tap.   
Then it becomes a judgment call. | 
	
 This is, of course, correct.
I went through a phase in which I was calling non-shooting fouls when the foulee was gathering the ball. This was not the "expected" call, and I heard about it. I also learned (by following JR's method) that I was applying the rule incorrectly.
I am not a fan of "always make the expected call," but it's worth reflecting on the situation if you're routinely 
not making the expected call. Expectations are often, though not always, correct.