View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 10:49am
Scratch85 Scratch85 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No it's not, because in the case play the officials blow the play dead before the rebounder does anything with the ball.
I agree it's not the exact case due to the reason you have stated.

But what is the difference between a late whistle and this scenario. I know one difference is a violation versus a mistake by the officials. But 8.6.1 gives us a definite time when we are to blow the play dead (when one team is at an obvious disadvantage due to our misinforming players.) If we fail to whistle before a quick put back, I think it is well within the rules to whistle late and follow the case book play 8.6.1.
Reply With Quote