View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 14, 2010, 06:42am
CMHCoachNRef CMHCoachNRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
What if you have a situation similar to OP, but to add a twist...assume A1 has ball for throw-in on endline following made basket by B with Team A up by a point and one second left (assume we are coming back from a time out so the clock is stopped). A1 throws a long pass towards A's frontcourt and A2 who had broken towards frontcourt then breaks hard for backcourt so that the pass is sailing towards nobody. While the pass is in the air heading out of bounds the horn goes off. Then what? In OP had the horn not gone off someone on team A likely touches the ball and the game is over, so fine you give A the ball back and they try again with a second on the clock, however, in this situation it is likely nobody would have touched it and the ball would have gone to Team B for throw-in right under their basket with a second left....the answer has to be the same as with the OP, but in this case the timer just gave team A quite a gift which sucks.
Good gosh, unfortunately, the interp that Nevada cited fits this play very closely from the standpoint that a) there was an obvious timing error and b) the throw-in did not end before the horn. But, wow, this situation could certainly open up the possibility of ultimate "homer" by the home timer if this was the home team's throw-in.

In a way, this is an inadvertent horn. Inadvertent horns are to be ignored by the players. Players should know that the clock does not start until the ball is touched. Since the ball clearly was not touched, the players should have kept playing.

Fairness of the game: Throw-in pass made by Team A, inadvertent horn (ignore horn), ball goes out of bounds untouched, throw-in to Team B at spot of Team A's throw in.

Rules interp cited by Nevada goes against this. But, inadvertent horns are to be ignored. In this case, if the horn is ignored, the ball went out of bounds untouched. 1 second is put on the clock and ball goes to Team B.

Last edited by CMHCoachNRef; Thu Jan 14, 2010 at 06:44am.
Reply With Quote