| 
			
			We've previously discussed the situation with runners on base and the BR hits an over the fence HR and passes the runner on 1B.  (Let's not muddy this w/ the SP version and no one has to run any bases.)  
 In a situation with 2 outs if this happens, the BR is immediately declared out, but all preceeding runners are allowed to score, even after the third out has been made.
 
 Now the HR is a dead ball so the preceeding runners are allowed to score.
 
 In my situation when R1 is hurt after the obstruction, we have a delayed dead ball.  R1 wasn't the runner who passed another runner as mentioned, but the BR, I think, should be called out for passing another runner.
 
 If the preceeding runners can score on a "grand slam single", I'm inclined to allow R1 to score since she was obstructed, we had a delayed dead ball, and she's entitled to HP.
 
 I'm sure a lot of you veteran umps could sell it either way.  By rule, what's the proper call?
 
				__________________Ted
 USA & NFHS Softball
 |