View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 05, 2010, 07:29pm
golfnref golfnref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fan10 View Post
Just a fan here, but I learned this rule after seeing it come up in a game a few years back. Officials, please correct me if I mess up the wording:

On fourth down or a try, if the ball is recovered by by an offensive player other than the fumbler BEHIND the spot of the fumble (i.e. the ball is fumbled backwards), it's marked at the spot of the fumble RECOVERY.
Your statement is correct for NFL. In a nutshell, on fourth down or a try, the team on offense cannot gain yardage if the ball is fumbled forward. On the other hand, they may lose yardage. This rule also applies to the defense in the last two minutes of each half if they gain possession of the ball by virtue of a turnover.
Reply With Quote