I did talk to both of the guys a little bit during a timeout but didn't have time to get a full explanation of why they went with the NCAA rule. After their game ended, I didn't much opportunity as well as my partner and I had to get ready for our game.
Because I wasn't sure if having the technical being given during the timeout changed anything, I can't say I "pointed out their error". I came home to double check the rule book and then posted here.
However, I did submit an evaluation of the situation after i got clarification so the two officials should know about the situation now.
|