View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 31, 2009, 05:14pm
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara View Post
So is it true that in both NCAA W & M, this would be an inadvertent whistle and then the coach for Team B would decide if they still want the timeout? Any references?

Just an FYI, if the player would have said, "We want a timeout after the rebound." I would have replied that he'll "make sure to request it after the rebound". But since he was an official he knew that he purposely said, "they will be requesting a timeout on the rebound".

I was the most disappointed of anyone on the floor that the ball squeezed out. It was a stupid mistake.
(sh)it happens. But it happens to all of us - that's how we happen to "own" certain rules. In your case, I simply look at the players' statements or requests as a "heads-up" to look for and be aware of the request at the proper time.

I'm not sure about NCAA-M, but the players were correct for NCAA-W. An incorrect TO request is treated as an inadvertant whistle. Then, of course, a TO can be requested and granted during that dead ball. The exception is during the last minute of the game, where any TO request cannot be granted during the dead ball following an inadvertant whistle. I do not have my NCAA books with me, but I can post the specific rule and/or A.R. later.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote