View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 31, 2009, 01:47am
coach41 coach41 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 107
"Dead Ball" Technical Foul

Hey guys,

One more situation that occurred from the game BEFORE mine tonight (another freshman game).

With about two minutes left in the fourth quarter, there is a scramble for the ball and a jump ball is called. The white team has the arrow and the ball is awarded to them at the sideline. The white team coach decides to call a timeout which the officials grant.

For some unknown reason, the white player who was in the scramble for the ball decides to exhibit his frustration and spikes the ball on the floor. It's an easy technical for the officials to call.

After the timeout is over, the officials administer the technical foul with the brown team shooting both free throws.

However, the weirdness begins after the free throws. The official grant the ball back to white at half court in front of the score table.

My partner and I were doing our pregame in the stands and discussed this. I thought the ball should have been given to the brown team at half court opposite the score table.

I talked to the two officials after the game and it seemed they went with the "point of interruption" when giving the ball back. I pointed out that they put the ball in at the wrong location in that case.

Can someone clarify for me what exactly should have been done in this situation? I looked at the rule book to see about "dead ball" technical fouls. I'm thinking this should have been handled like any other technical (two free throws, ball at half court to the other team).
__________________
Visit My Officiating Blog: http://www.behindthewhistle.com
Reply With Quote