View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 30, 2009, 11:04pm
Upward ref Upward ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Yorktown Va.
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Upward ref
Question start of game jump ball

Tonight at a holiday tournament ,the opening jump was touched by A1 and hit the floor outside of the circle. since no other teammates were around on that side , A 1 grabs the ball and starts a dribble. then came a slightly delayed whistle and ball goes to B1 for a throw in. immediately pulled out my trusty nfhs rule book (6-3-6,7,8)to read that : the jump ball and restrictions end when the touched ball contacts one of the 8 non jumpers, an official, the floor etc... I didn't see a violation so before start of 2nd half i illegally entered the confines of the court at the division line across from the table and asked (who i assumed to be the umpire ?) why the throw in after what I thought was a legal jump? the ref politely told me thats the way he's taught it for 20 years ,had talked it over with his crew at half time and it was a good call since A1 still had 1 foot in/touching the restraining circle. fair enough , but i can't find that one anywhere in the book. Good call ? (the ref also advised me that if this game was in Nevada I could be escorted off the court and then summarily horse whipped !) Glad I am in good ol' Virginia!
__________________
Upward ref
Reply With Quote