Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Coaches "request" timeouts. Officials "call" timeouts if the request is made at an appropriate time.
It's a semantic issue that seems to draw fire everytime someone gets it "wrong" in here.
The funny thing is, the case book makes the same semantic "error," if I remember correctly.
|
Officials call timeouts? Can you find one spot in either the rule or case book where it says anything about officials calling timeouts?
Anyone who thinks that this is an error needs to actually read the rule book and see that the what the official does when there is a timeout request is called granting a timeout. Apparently some people have imagined the word calling replacing granting and therefore consider it incorrect to say that a player called timeout when in actuality they were the one who didn't know the proper term.