Quote:
Originally Posted by Mregor
What does the level of the ring have to do with anything? Depends on who touches it and where their position on the floor when touched.
If it is touched by a defensive player, it still counts as 3 (much like a block by a defender who is inside the arc on a 3 pt try). If the pass bounces off an offensive player inside the 3 pt line, it counts as 2.
|
Here is the Case Book play noted by JR. (Glad to see him back BTW

)
4.41.4 SITUATION B: A1’s three-point try is short and below ring level when it
hits the shoulder of: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through
the basket. RULING: The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and
below the ring. However, since a live ball went through the basket, two points are
scored in both (a) and (b). (5-1)