Just to add...
Interp from 2000-2001:
SITUATION 5: A1 steals the ball from B2 and is on a breakaway. B3 is attempting to catch A1 but is trailing the play. As A1 attempts a lay up, B3 tries to block the shot and fails. During B3’s attempt to block the shot, his/her hand slaps the backboard. RULING: Even though the contact with the backboard was very obvious, it was not an intentional act and would not be ruled illegal. COMMENT: No doubt the coach and spectators of Team A will protest that a technical foul should have been called on B3. The covering official must base his/her decision on the intent of the play. (10-3-6)
|