View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 05:05pm
Scratch85 Scratch85 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
could've sworn I posted something, was it deleted?

Rule book says:

Rule 9-9 BACKCOURT
Article 3

A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.

So no, there is no backcourt violation. No team control during throw-ins, and the rulebook said you may jump from FC to BC while catching the ball mid-air.

9-9-3 only applies to a player from the team not in control (defense) or during a throw-in. They are the exceptions to rule 9-9-1. In the case of the OP, it is a violation
Reply With Quote