View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 07:24pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,371
Just Don't Call Me Late For Dinner ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
To be considered a "try", the ball does not have to hit the backboard or rim. The only qualification is that, in the opinion of the official, it was a legitimate try for goal. Definitely, one of the most misunderstood rules. Right BillyBob, er, I mean BillyMac?
The shooter can retrieve his or her own airball, if the referee considers it to be a shot attempt. The release ends team control. It is not a violation for that player to start another dribble at that point.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote