Quote:
Originally Posted by dbking
Wrong, it is not an illegal dribble. The ball is loose on the court. All ten players may legally obtain possession of the ball. A dribble is defined very clearly in the book. This is not a dribble therefore, it can not be an illegal dribble. Perfectly legal play that everyone in stands will be crying for something when you actually should have nothing. Play on! There are restrictions on the the player on what he can / can not do with the ball once he has regained possession.
Wrong, it is not a travel. You can not travel when you do not have possession of the ball. This is a fumble and represents a loose ball. All ten players may legally obtain possession of the ball. Play on. Again, restrictions are on this player once he regains possession of ball.
|
There's a specific case play where A1, having used his/her dribble, passes the ball toward A2. A2 is not looking and runs away and A1 recovers the ball after it bounces.
The ruling has gone back and forth as to whether it's an illegal dribble or a travel, but it's clear that it's a violation.