Quote:
Originally Posted by buckyswider
Could you please expand on your interpretation there? My take is that he's then established his baseline between the preceding base (2nd) and 3rd. He has obviously retreated beyond the base at that point- and yes, he did touch the base with his foot.
Thanks.
|
Even if he touched the base, when he stepped off again, he can reestablish his baseline and it doesn't matter where he goes UNTIL he is avoiding a tag when a tag attempt is made. At that point he is locked into running between the bases and can only go 3 feet in either direction out of his baseline in order to avoid a tag. The fact that he was on the left field side of 3rd is irrelevant to the enforcement of this rule, similar to the "skunk in the outfield" play.