Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
As you all know, the NFHS questions are in sections with headings....it could be that this question had a heading of "THROWINS". If so, the question would be fine....but we don't know.
|
Question 9 is in the Court and Equipment Section (Rule 1) and reads:
A restraining line may be used as a boundary line when space is limited, and
may extend the entire length or width of the court.
Rule 1.2.2 reads
If on an unofficial court, there is less than 3 feet of unobstructed space outside any sideline or end line, a narrow broken line
shall be marked on the court.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
1-2-2 is advice for people building a court, and does not require officials to stop a game.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
There's nothing wrong with either question or rule. In older gyms where there may be only a foot between the sideline and bleachers. Both questions and rules would fit the situation.
Don't get hung up on shall and may. It's no big deal.
|
Three problems with the rule/question:
1. If rule 1.2.2 is meant solely as advice for people building a court that should be clearly indicated and the related question is a poor choice to include on a test for new officials.
2. I understand and agree with the rationale for ensuring 3 feet of space for the thrower in. However shall vs. may is a big deal. Frequently the rule book uses shall to mean what shall means -- a requirement not an option.
2 of many, many examples:
9-2-5 The thrower shall not carry the ball onto the court.
9-2-6 The thrown ball shall not touch the thrower in the court before it touches or is touched by another player.
Is bktBallRef suggesting that the we should choose when shall means required in the rule book rather than the rule book being consistent? Language counts. It particularly counts for new officials taking a certification test.
3. This is one of too many certification questions that raise more of a question of semantics than rule. But test takers and instructors still need to deal with it as it is.