View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 01, 2009, 01:22pm
NorCalRef12 NorCalRef12 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 63
If an official discovers the injury, the coach cannot buy his player back in by using a timeout. See Casebook 3.5.10 Situation A.

The rule also states that the player must stay out for one down. a down is defined as, "A down is action which starts with a legal snap (beginning a scrimmage down) or when the ball is kicked on a free kick (beginning a free-kick down). A down ends when the ball next becomes dead."

If a live ball foul occurs during the next down and A will repeat that down, the previously injured player can come back in since a down has been played. Note that this would only occur to live ball fouls. If a dead ball foul occurs, then the snap or kick never happened and the injured player will have to wait.
Reply With Quote